By-laws Article V

Article V


Section 5.01 Officers.  The officers of the organization, all of whom shall be members of the Executive Committee and have such powers and duties as the Executive Committee from time-to-time may prescribe, shall be the:

  1. President
  2. Vice-President
  3. Past-President (ex-officio)
  4. Secretary
  5. Treasurer

Section 5.02  President: Powers and Duties.  The President shall preside at meetings of the Executive Committee and represent the Delaware Network to the National Committee.

Section 5.03  Vice-President: Powers and Duties. Shall perform the duties of the President when the President is not present. The vice-president is the president elect.

Section 5.04  Secretary: Powers and Duties. The Secretary shall keep the minutes of the meetings of the Executive Committee, and shall perform the duties and functions customarily performed by the secretary of a corporation.

Section 5.05  Treasurer: Powers and Duties. The Treasurer is a two year commitment and may be re-elected.

  1. Render an account of the financial condition of the organization whenever called upon to do so;
  2. Advise the Executive Committee in the preparation of the budget proposals;
  3. Direct that the books and accounts of the organization follow standard accounting procedures.
  4. For amounts over $500.00, the Treasurer shall seek approval from another Officer prior to issuing a check.

Section 5.06  Officer Emeritus. The executive committee at their discretion may appoint a former officer who has provided meritorious service over time to the organization.  This individual shall act in an advisory capacity to the Executive Committee.

Section 5.07  Delegation of Officer’s Duties. In the absence of any officer, the Executive Committee may delegate or authorize the temporary delegation of her powers or duties to any other member of the Executive Committee.

Section 5.08  Election of Officers. The officers shall serve as the nominating committee and will present nominations to the Executive Committee. Elections shall be held in May or June. The officers shall be elected by the Executive Committee but may not be elected for more than two (2) consecutive terms. The Vice President, President and Past-President shall serve one year terms beginning on July 1st and ending on June 30th. The Treasurer and Secretary shall serve two year terms beginning on July 1st and ending on June 30th.


go to…